Women in Technology finalists have been announced

Women in Technology have announced the finalists for their 2020 Leadership Awards. One of the women to receive a nomination is Sherry Hwang, co-founder of Pyramid Systems.

Women in Technology (WIT) has named Pyramid Systems’ President and Co-founder, Sherry Hwang, a 2020 Leadership Awards Finalist. Hwang is one of five finalists nominated for the Small Business/Entrepreneur category.

Pyramid Systems is a technology solutions company that enables digital transformation for federal agencies via Modernization, DevSecOps, Cloud, Analytics, and Biometrics technology services.

Annually, the WIT Leadership Awards recognise and honour female leaders whose achievements, mentorship, and contributions to the community align with the WIT mission of advancing women in technology from the classroom to the boardroom.

Sherry and Jeff Hwang launched Pyramid Systems in 1995 and have grown the company to more than 200 employees. Sherry’s leadership philosophy of taking care of her clients and people is the main reason behind Pyramid’s success.

“I’m honoured to be considered for a WIT award. Helping further the careers of women in technology gives me great pleasure. It’s so important as you advance in life and business to bring others along with you,” Sherry Hwang said.

Women in Technology will announce winners at a gala event on Thursday, 21 May, at the Sheraton Hotel in Tysons Corner, Virginia. For the full list categories and finalists, visit the Women in Technology website.

The other individuals to receive finalist status are:

Corporate Large-Market Sector

  • Julie Coleman – General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Lisa Finneran – General Dynamics Mission Systems
  • Carol Hayes – Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Dorothy (Dee Dee) Helfenstein – Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Helen Jaffe – Perspecta

Corporate Mid-Market Sector

  • Mary Colville – Affigent, an Akima Company
  • Tina Kuhn – CyberCore Technologies
  • Tracey Moon – Verodin
  • Beth Taylor – Airline Tariff Publishing Company (ATPCO)
  • Elizabeth Voeller – eGlobalTech

Corporate Small-Market Sector

  • Lara Coffee – CSCI
  • Kaitlin Moran – CloudBolt Software, Inc.
  • Carolyn Parent – LiveSafe
  • Gigi Schumm – ThreatQuotient
  • Barbara Volkman – Artlin Consulting

Government and Defence

  • Christie Canaria – National Cancer Institute
  • Judy Conley – Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division
  • Susan Lawrence – Accenture Federal Services
  • Jessica McElman – Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division (NSWCCD)
  • Shannon Pitts – Coast Guard Command, Control, Communications, Computers and Information Technology Service Center

Rising Star

  • Rachel Balestrieri – General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Rachel Cohen – The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Sunila Saqib – Fannie Mae
  • Rebecca Schneider – Dewberry
  • Jessica Smith – Leidos

Small Business/Entrepreneur

  • Jay Ahn – Cloud Lake, an Akima Company
  • Jennifer Bonner – Solutions By Design II, LLC
  • Sherry Hwang – Pyramid Systems
  • Collette Magnant – Sullivan Breast Center and Founder, Johns Hopkins Women’s Health
  • Center at Sibley Memorial Hospital
  • Sophia Tong – T and T Consulting Services, Inc.

STEM Leadership

  • Brigitte Custer – General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Katherine Eustice – T-Rex Solutions, LLC
  • Cristine Gollayan – Sony Corporation of America
  • Alexis Lundeen – Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Kamaljeet Sanghera – George Mason University

Unsung Hero

  • Kristin Aguiar-Burns – Fannie Mae
  • Gillian Eiserman – SWIFT
  • Robyn Moses – General Dynamics Information Technology
  • Aparna Kadari – Fannie Mae
  • Reshma Kotti – MAXIMUS Federal

Subscribe to our newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Featured Topics

Partner News


Latest eBooks

Latest Partners

Similar Articles

More from Innovation News Network